Students inspire final call for WOBA 2018 entries

Thursday November 23rd 2017


WOBA Design Selection
WOBA Design Selection at Abingdon & Witney College
Picture: Ric Mellis

A talented team of art & design students from Abingdon & Witney College has created a stunning trophy design that will be made by Witney charity, Synolos and presented to the STL Communications West Oxfordshire Business of the Year 2018.

WOBA organisers are hoping the hard work and budding creative talent demonstrated by students from the Witney Campus will help to inspire West Oxfordshire businesses who are yet to download and submit their entry ahead of the midnight deadline, Monday 4 December 2017. Enter here.

The college team ‘Warcraft” beat off stiff competition from their class mates when 17 year-old Monya Carter from Eynsham confidently presented her team’s ideas to the WOBA judging panel. The design team also included: Chloe Davis (16), Chris Brooksbank (18) and Blake Richardson (17).

Monya Carter said: “I’m very excited and am so proud our design won. We wanted our design to be different to any previous trophies. The wings resemble victory for the business which will eventually be presented with our trophy. I’m just so excited!”

The four students will visit Synolos’ new building at Station Lane, Witney, to see their design brought to life and will also attend the WOBA Celebration of Business event where the trophy will be unveiled as the 2018 finalists are revealed.

Jo Sensecall, spokesperson for the WOBA team, said: “The college students continue to inspire us with original trophy designs and this year has really raised the bar. There are many West Oxfordshire businesses who could potentially win this fantastic trophy and there really is a WOBA category for every business, regardless of how big or small. WOBA is a chance for West Oxfordshire businesses to shine.”

The WOBA 2018 categories are:
• Huffkins Hospitality, Leisure & Tourism Award
• NFU Retail Award
• The Rooflight Company Charity Award
• First Sight Media Marketing Excellence Award
• Owen Mumford Innovation Award
• The MGroup Employer Award
• Blenheim Palace New Business Award
• Witney BIC Micro Business Award
• NatWest Small Business Award
• Sandler Training Large Business Award
• Wise Investment Business Person of the Year Award

Download an entry form.
Entries close at midnight, Monday 4 December 2017.